REGGAE LIST REVISITED!

8 04 2010

Since I have been recently determined to re-start up my site, despite the fact that my top ten lists have caused me generally nothing but trouble – I have decided I will re-visit the reggae list and make amends where amends are due.

Firstly,
Thank you, the online public, for all the feedback on my list – I made it a while back and had completely forgotten about it until today, to be honest, but I will address a few errors.

Most importantly, I apologize to all those who have suggested greats like King Tubby, Toots and the Maytals, Culture, Junior Marvin, Peter Tosh, etc. –

I do have mad love for roots reggae, and would like to here and now say: I LOVE ROOTS REGGAE! I absolutely do. I love it in the same way I love Elvis and listening to old blues or jazz records – it provides a background, a great way to learn, and shows you where the music came from and also gives you some idea how it has evolved over the years. And I don’t mean to boast but I do have a pretty decent collection of it myself, a look at my roots playlist: Culture, Buju Banton, Lee Perry & Friends, Toots and the Maytals, Bunny Wailer, Junior Marvin, Steel Pulse, Aswad, Eek-A-Mouse. However, you must take into consideration the context of my list.

Culture

I am young, around 21, and currently a full-time student/DJ. I am all about moving music forward – I listen to music for at least 5 hours a day, and most of it is new, progressive types of music.
So..
I made my list to reflect a growing generation of new, up-and-coming groups, who are taking the music in a new direction.. Great modern groups like Groundation, Slightly Stoopid, Matisyahu, Tribal Seeds, they are the ones who are blazing the paths to the future – combining elements of ska, roots, dub, hip hop, and even electronic music elements, and are feeding my insane hunger for new tracks while developing/growing reggae music in the process.

eek a mouse

I am a product of my environment – I am pretty sure a famous person said that at some point – and my reason for making the list was that I wanted to share what I listen to with the world because I love music and want to share that music with others.

Junior Marvin

Cartoon Depiction of King Tubby (left) and Lee Perry

Buju Banton

Errors to be fixed:
Bob Marley did not write Rivers of Babylon, and I never meant to imply that he did. But does do a wicked cover of it. See the list..

Also my man here has a point:
“This is a great list. Just one thing. 54-46 That’s My Number is a Toots and the Maytals song that was covered by Aswad. Please give credit where credit is due. Also Sublime really only sampled the chorus from that song, they didn’t cover it.”

– Yes, Sublime did cover the song, albeit, as you say, loosely.. That is absolutely correct. Toots and the Maytals did originally write 54-46 that’s my number, followed by Aswad, Sublime, and numerous other covers (most songs today come out with an entire record or CD of remixes anyway)

toots & the maytals

Wanted to give a great shout out to my man with this comment:
“really good list, not trying to be a know it all, but bradley nowell left behind a son not a daughter lol. thought you might wanna know. and i agree sublime is the greatest band ever. ”
.. because it is one hundred percent true, very tragic, and yet another reason I love sublime. Thanks for the input bra.

Apparently, unbeknownst to me, the Sublime cover of ‘No Woman No Cry’ is actually a cover group with a lead-singer who sounds a lot like Brad Nowell of sublime. Oops mistake. Still a great song, so gonna go ahead and leave it posted.

Also I would like to adjust the list: a great new band called Tribal Seeds is very hot in LA right now and I have greatly enjoyed their first two records (names?)

Heres some sample tracks, but as always please support the artist and download their entire work for yourself..

All I know

The Harvest

I feel like, for me they come in at around 4 or 5 right now.

I have also been listening to a lot of dub recently, when I’m not busy overloading my ears with dubstep, house, progressive, trance, electro.. etc.
check out: Buju Banton, Dub Syndicate, Michael Franti & Spearhead, The Gladiators, John Brown’s Body, Israel Vibration, 10 ft. Ganja Plant

As far as the world goes, I am sorry if my list angered you, but I am happy if you enjoyed it. It took me forever to gather the information and I know it is not perfect, but it was for fun anyway. I make no revenue from this sight and in no way benefit from it other than to promote my music and my love of music.

Please continue to enjoy life and party on.

DJ Swine Flu – 11 Minute Power Dubstep Session April 7

DJ Swine Flu – 15 Minute Power House Electro Club Session April 7

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

